Sights of Uglich - what to see and where to go in the city and the surrounding area. Description, photos, how to get, addresses, GPS-coordinates, tags on the map.
The main attraction of the city of Uglich is its history, and the history is dark. This refers to the murder in Uglich of the last prince of the Rurikovich clan Dmitry, the youngest son of Ivan the Terrible. Actually, it was from this event that the Time of Troubles began in Russia, which had such a profound influence on the fate of the whole country and especially on the Yaroslavl, Kostroma and Rostov lands. The emblem of the city of Uglich is interesting in this regard: it depicts Tsarevich Dmitry with the weapon of his murder - a knife (I immediately recall the coat of arms of Yaroslavl: a bear with the weapon of his murder is an ax. The imagination of the emblems in these parts was not very rich).
It was after the death of the Tsarevich that Uglich got in trouble: at first the townspeople accused the lad of the people Boris Godunov of death and, without delay, put them to death along with their relatives. Then, a commission of inquiry specially arrived from Moscow, led by Vasily Shuisky, ruled that Dmitry died in an accident (or, in the language of the police protocol, as a result of “careless handling of knives”). Moreover, the commission was not embarrassed by the fact that Dmitry had a throat cut.
According to the results of the investigation, it turned out that the townspeople staged their lynching in vain, that is, in this "the betrayal of the posadsky people was revealed, the betrayal was obvious." The authorities were quick to demonstrate their “punishing power” to the whole city of Uglich: two hundred people were executed, sixty families were exiled to the newly joined Siberia. Interestingly, the punishing organs did not ignore even the church bell, which announced the death of the Tsarevich and called for the vengeance of vengeance. The bell was stripped of its chair, its ear and tongue were cut off, it was carved with whips and sent to exile in Siberia for three hundred years. From this moment begins the decline of the city of Uglich.
And several years later, all of Russia already had problems: at first, a three-year crop failure led to a terrible famine, riots and a peasant war. Then an impostor appeared in Poland, calling himself a miracle, a Tsarevich who had survived in Uglich, and claimed the right to the Russian throne. Using the support of the King of Poland Sigismund III, he entered Moscow and, in the wake of the troubles of False Dmitry, crowned the kingdom. In other words, an event happened in Uglich that thoroughly shook the whole huge country.
But, in addition to two churches, dedicated to the royal lad, there are many other interesting sights in Uglich: ancient monasteries, merchant mansions and a huge number of the most diverse museums - often with very unexpected collections.
1. Uglich Kremlin
Once this small patch on the very banks of the Volga was Uglich - at that time it was surrounded by earthen ramparts and a wooden fortress wall. Unfortunately, the fortifications have not survived to this day, and now they call the Uglich Kremlin a complex of historical buildings: the Transfiguration Cathedral, the former city council building, the Church of Tsarevich Dmitry on Blood and the chambers of the Uglich princes. All these attractions are combined into a single Uglich historical-architectural and art museum.
Address: Uglich, st. Kremlin. Coordinates: 57.52857, 38.3183.
2. Church of Tsarevich Dmitry "on the blood"
The temple was built on the territory of the former Uglich Kremlin on the site of the death of the Tsarevich. All of his paintings are dedicated to the life and death of one saint: Dmitry, canonized by the Russian Orthodox Church. In addition, as an honorary exhibit, it contains the very “original inanimate from Uglich” (that is what it was called in official documents) - a bell that was once exiled from Uglich to Tobolsk and then returned.
Address: Uglich, st. Kremlin, 2. Coordinates: 57.52963, 38.3188.
Uglich excursions from local residents
Inquisitive and sociable travelers who want to fully experience the unique atmosphere of ancient Uglich and get to know their inhabitants better, I recommend booking a city tour “in the first person” - your guides will be local residents, journalists, historians, artists and just experts in their native places:
At the booking stage, you will need to pay online only 20% of the cost of the tour - the rest of the amount is given to the guide before it starts.
3. The chambers of the Uglich princes and the monument to Tsarevich Dmitry
This palace of the specific princes of Uglich is one of the oldest surviving residential buildings in Russia. Initially, the princely chambers were wooden, but in the 1480s they were replaced by stone. At that time it was a unique structure - in all of Russia only the elder brother of the Uglich prince Andrei Bolshoi, Moscow Tsar Ivan III could afford stone building, and the Moscow stone palaces began to be built later than the Uglich.
Address: Uglich, st. Kremlin, 1. Coordinates: 57.52923, 38.31831.
4. The Epiphany Cathedral
The cathedral was part of the complex of buildings of the Assumption Cathedral and was intended for winter services - while the Transfiguration Cathedral was served only in the summer. The construction of the “warm” stone church was completed in 1827, its interior was a finished classical ensemble with unique murals - unfortunately, all this was lost later.
Address: Uglich, st. Kremlin. Coordinates: 57.5289, 38.31851.
5. The building of the former City Council
The two-story building of the former City Council is located above the slope of the old moat of the Uglich Kremlin. It has a classic symmetrical facade with a mezzanine and a six-columned portico located in the center. Nowadays, his Red Hall, where the Duma used to sit and the Soviet regime was proclaimed, has been turned into the Music Room, where concerts are regularly held. Also in the building are departments of the Uglich Historical, Architectural and Art Museum.
Address: Uglich, st. Kremlin. Coordinates: 57.52793, 38.31837.
6. Transfiguration Cathedral
This is the Uglich Cathedral, built in 1710 as a replacement for the former wooden building, which ceased to accommodate all parishioners. Among other things, the temple is known for its image of the Virgin: a brilliant artist was able to create a stunning effect - as you move from right to left, if you do not take your eyes off the Virgin, you can notice how her expression changes - sadness is replaced by a barely noticeable smile:
In addition, the Transfiguration Cathedral is famous for its fresco "Transfiguration" - a copy of Raphael’s paintings stored in the Vatican. Another feature of the cathedral is its electric clock, installed in 1984 by specialists from the Uglich watch factory - now every half hour the inhabitants of Uglich hear the melodic ringing of cathedral bells.
Address: Uglich, st. Kremlin, 5. Coordinates: 57.52906, 38.31719.
7. Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God
Previously, the church of the icon of the Mother of God “Passionate” was located on the site of this temple - it died during a fire in the Time of Troubles, like almost the whole of Uglich. The current Kazan Church was built in 1778 and is distinguished by its upward-looking appearance:
The temple had magnificent interior decoration: a high gilded iconostasis, unique paintings by the serf master Nenastiev, and most importantly - the miraculous image of the Mother of God of Kazan, donated to the church by its founder, the elders Varlaam.
The church was badly damaged during the fire of 1921, almost all of the Market Square burned out. Almost all the interior decoration was lost - including a unique icon. In 1935, during the construction of the Uglich Hydroelectric Power Station, the church began to be used as a hostel for builders, then as a warehouse and a water tower. In 2000, the Kazan Church was returned to the Orthodox Church, and its restoration began.
Address: Uglich, Assumption Square, 6. Coordinates: 57.52729, 38.3156.
8. Museum of urban life
The museum opened in 2004 and occupies an elegant wooden tower, in which there was a public library before it, and even earlier - the tea merchant V.I. Kashinov. The museum’s collection has more than 300 exhibits and is dedicated to the traditions and everyday life of citizens of the late XIX-early XX centuries: ceramic dishes, Tula samovars, travel bags, scales, etc. In the second hall you can see how the rooms of middle-class citizens looked: study, dining room, living room , ladies room. During the tour, guests are invited to take part in a traditional Russian tea party.
Address: Uglich, Uspenskaya Square, 5. Coordinates: 57.52694, 38.31953.
9. Shopping arcade
Unfortunately, the current Uglich Trading Rows are just a pale shadow of the splendor that was located on the Assumption (Trading) Square in the 19th century. Then the square was framed by solid classic-style trading buildings with hotels, offices and warehouses. Four churches, formerly the architectural dominants of the square, towered above the malls. The crown of the ensemble was the luxurious house of the Evreinov merchants, who took the place of several shops of the Great Meal Row. In 1921, a severe fire broke out - the fire raged for several days, almost the entire area burned to the ground, only the Evreinov’s house and the eastern trading corps were saved - they are the modern Trade rows of Uglich.
Address: Uglich, Assumption Square, 3, 4. Coordinates: 57.52661, 38.32031.
10. The House of Eureins
This museum is located in a very picturesque mansion of Uglich merchants N.D. and K.N. Evreinovyh, famous philanthropists and patriots of their city. The Evreinovs House is considered the most beautiful of all the remaining non-religious buildings of the city. A two-story house on the corner of Assumption Square and Ascension Street began to be built in 1892, and finished already in the 20th century. On the ground floor were the shops of the Evreinovs, Trekhgorny Brewery and the Singer company. The mansion was the first cinema in Uglich, operating from the only power station in the city, as well as a theater room.
Currently, the city’s Uglich administration is located in a former merchant’s mansion.
Address: Uglich, Uspenskaya Square, 2. Coordinates: 57.526, 38.31827.
11. Museum of the History of Russian Vodka
The organizers of this unusual museum declare its mission as “to form a competent attitude towards the use of alcoholic beverages among visitors”. The appearance of such a museum in Uglich is no coincidence - not far from it, in the village of Kayurovo, P.A. Smirnov - a native of serfs, the famous “vodka” industrialist, supplier of the imperial court and the founder of the famous “Trading House P.A. Smirnova. ”
The museum displays a variety of moonshine stills, the first mechanical machine for bottling finished products, many bottles of the most unusual shapes and unique labels. Most of the exposition is represented by distilleries with experience of 100 years or more.
Address: Uglich, Rostovskaya St., 1. Coordinates: 57.52626, 38.32026.
12. Fire tower
In this building, which consists of a two-story mansion with a mezzanine and the fire tower itself, the city fire service is still located. Kalancha is a wooden octagonal tower with a viewing gallery in the upper part - its light silhouette still forms a large part of the city.
Address: Uglich, st. Yaroslavskaya, 10/12. Coordinates: 57.52784, 38.32357.
13. Arsenal of unusual bicycles "Samokat"
This museum began its work only in 2017 and at the moment it is the youngest in Uglich. The collection consists of bicycles - there is a wooden runbike, forged crusher, two- and three-wheeled bicycles with different-sized wheels, and much, much more. The collection dedicated to Soviet-era bicycles contains absolutely all the models ever produced in series in our country. The tour tells not only about bicycles, but also about the founder of the museum, Sergey Kondakov, his bicycle achievements and cycling trips around Russia.
There is a bicycle rental at the museum - you can rent both Soviet “Kama” or “Salute”, as well as modern models, and ride around Uglich.
Address: Uglich, st. O. Berggolz, 3. Coordinates: 57.52932, 38.32159.
14. Museum of Prison Art
The collection of this unusual museum occupies two rooms and includes crafts made by prisoners made of wood, metal, plastic, paper, bread and other materials - sometimes quite unexpected. Among the exhibits are a papier-mâché guitar, paintings on sheets, etc. The interior of the prison cell is also recreated in the museum - with bunks, a table and a metal door with a peephole.
Address: Uglich, st. O. Berggolz, 1/2. Coordinates: 57.52947, 38.32118.
15. Museum-gallery of dolls
This museum presents a collection of dolls by the local craftswoman Olga Pavlycheva (another museum of her dolls is located in the city of Myshkin). Olga began making her first dolls for her little son - at first it was soft toys, various animals and characters of Russian fairy tales. Currently, the exposition has about 100 products manufactured over the past 7-8 years. Each doll has its own face, outfit and character - for the manufacture of one toy an average of 2 weeks of hard work is required, as well as a lot of imagination and perseverance.
Address: Uglich, st. O. Berggolz, 1/2. Coordinates: 57.52942, 38.32113.
16. House of the Brewers
Externally, this wooden mansion looks like a tower from a Russian fairy tale - the walls are decorated with wooden herringbone planks, under the roof there is a multi-tier carved cornice, wooden pilasters at the corners of the house are also decorated with herringbone. Little is known about the former owners of the house: judging by the records, this was a very famous surname in the city - but it is unclear which of its representatives was the owner of this mansion and what kind of occupation it was.
Address: Uglich, st. Yaroslavskaya, 30/14. Coordinates: 57.53006, 38.32769.
17. Church of the Korsun Icon of the Mother of God
Once upon a time, on the road from Yaroslavl, there was an ancient monastery of St. Macarius the Egyptian, destroyed by the Poles in the Time of Troubles. Later it was decided to build a new church in the same place, and on the ruins of the old monastery the builders discovered the icon of the Mother of God of Korsun - it turned out to be miraculous and has since been the most revered in the church. The silhouette of the church, thanks to domes on thin high drums and a spectacular four-tiered bell tower, looks very light and directed to heaven. The Church of the Korsun Icon of the Mother of God remained active until 1941 - and it also became the first Uglich church, reopened in the 1990s.
Address: Uglich, st. Narimanova, 5a. Coordinates: 57.53331, 38.33005.
18. Watch Museum "The Seagull"
This interesting museum is dedicated to the products of the most famous enterprise of Uglich, the Chaika watch factory. The museum presents the history of the enterprise over 60 years of its work: among more than three thousand exhibits, you can see many unique samples - for example, the smallest wristwatch measuring 6x9 mm, which received the Big Gold Medal at the International Fair in Leipzig in 1966. In addition to classic men's and women's watches, the collection also has ring watches, pendant watches, wall clocks and gift watches decorated with Ural gems and Karelian birch.
Address: Uglich, Rybinsk highway, 20a. Coordinates: 57.54137, 38.33426.
19. Alekseevsky convent
Initially, the monastery was called the Assumption and in 1439 it was renamed in honor of St. Alexy. In the Time of Troubles, about 60 monks and 500 local residents defended the monastery, but to no avail, the monastery was taken by the Poles and burned.
Currently, the Alekseevsky monastery is female and famous for its miraculous icon of the Mother of God, called the “Goalkeeper” - the Mother of God on it is depicted as a nun with a rosary and a rod in her left hand and a candle in her right. This icon was stored in the monastery pantry for a long time, until a sick merchant arrived from St. Petersburg on June 23, 1894 and asked to be transferred to the Assumption Church - he had a vision that with his help he could be healed. And so it happened: after the prayer, the patient recovered, and in honor of this icon (then famous and other healings), a festive service is held annually on June 23.
Address: Uglich, st. Sharkova, 27. Coordinates: 57.52661, 38.33006.
20. The Epiphany Monastery
The Epiphany Convent was founded by the wife of Dmitry Donskoy, Grand Duchess Evdokia, and until the middle of the 17th century was located on the territory of the Uglich Kremlin - it was moved to its current place in 1661, when they began to build new fortifications in the Kremlin. The monastery went down in history in that it was in it that the tsarina Maria Fedorovna, the mother of the murdered prince Dmitry, was tonsured as a nun.
In Soviet times, the monastery was closed, the revival of monastic life occurred only in the 2000s.
Address: Uglich, Campus 12. Coordinates: 57.52368, 38.32156.
21. Church of Tsarevich Demetrius "on the field"
According to legend, when the relics of the murdered Tsarevich Dmitry were transferred to Moscow, the procession first went along the Moscow road - but at the exit from the city near the John the Theologian Monastery, the relics with relics suddenly stopped and it was impossible to move them. Because of this, it was decided to go along the Rostov road, but before continuing the journey, the Uglyans were allowed to say goodbye to the prince. At the place of this farewell, at first a chapel was erected, and then a stone church, now considered one of the most picturesque sights of Uglich.
Address: Uglich, st. Rostov, 60. Coordinates: 57.5176, 38.32709.
22. Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist
The Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist was built in 1690 on the banks of the Volga River near the Resurrection Monastery, and is considered one of the best architectural creations of Uglich. This is another church in the city, built in memory of the innocently murdered child - this time the son of the merchant Nikifor Chepolosov. The son of Nicephorus Vanya was killed by the clerk, and his father spent almost all his fortune to perpetuate his memory. In the 1960s, restorers found a niche in the burial place of Vanya Chepolosov in the northern aisle of the church.
According to some reports, even the designers of the Uglich Hydroelectric Power Station recognized the value of the church - for the sake of its preservation, they went to a major change in the initial project, and for the Stalin era this is something completely unthinkable.
Address: Uglich, st. Spasskaya, 14. Coordinates: 57.52663, 38.30756.
23. Resurrection Monastery
The Resurrection Monastery was erected by Metropolitan Iona Sysoevich - the very one who built the Rostov Kremlin, and partly resembles the Rostov “fortress city”.
At the beginning of the 16th century, the ancestors of the future mother of the first tsar from the Romanov dynasty Mikhail Fedorovich were buried in the monastery. It is known that his mother Ksenia Shestova (sheared a nun under the name of Martha) was the granddaughter of the wealthy Uglich landowner Timofey Gryazny, buried in the monastery.
Address: Uglich, st. Oparina, 2a. Coordinates: 57.5259, 38.30831.
24. Museum of myths and superstitions of the Russian people
This museum exposition illustrates that layer of folk culture that comes from the pre-Christian pagan era and is reflected in many aspects of life - for example, in Russian folk tales. The collection, created by the spouses Diana and Alexander Galunov, is located in a two-story wooden house and includes wax figures of Baba Yaga, brownie, kikimory, bird Sirin, etc. The exposition tells about the origin of many superstitions living in folk memory for many centuries - fear of black cats, “there will be no way” if he left home and returned, and many others.
Address: Uglich, st. January 9th, 40. Coordinates: 57.52352, 38.30796.
25. Uglich Hydroelectric Power Station and Museum of Hydropower
The Uglich hydroelectric station was launched in 1940 - it was supposed to provide the capital of the USSR with electricity, and during its construction and filling of the Uglich reservoir about 30 Volga villages were flooded - one of the monuments to these events is the legendary Kalyazinsky bell tower.
Currently, the complex of hydroelectric buildings, consisting of the station building, two dams and a shipping lock, is recognized as an object of architectural heritage and is protected by the state.
In 2007, the Hydropower Museum was opened in the former Volgolag administration building on the territory of the Uglich Hydroelectric Power Station, whose exposition offers a small “time travel”: visit the St. Petersburg Nevsky Prospect of the 19th century (it was there that the first gas lanterns appeared in Russia), then transferred to Moscow's first post -revolutionary years when the new government adopted the electrification plan of Russia - GOELRO. After Moscow, museum visitors will find themselves on the Volga in 1930–40 and heard the voices of the Volgolag prisoners, whose labor was used in the construction of the hydroelectric station. In the Museum’s Machine Hall you can find out how the hydro generator and turbine are arranged, how the locks and pumped storage stations work. A separate exposition is dedicated to other grandiose hydraulic structures of our planet, some of which were recognized as the largest construction sites of their time.
In 2011, the Uglich Museum of Hydropower entered the list of the best regional museums in Russia.
Shipping gateway of the Uglich hydroelectric station
Address: Uglich, st. Spasskaya, 33. Coordinates: 57.52444, 38.30391. Coordinates of the shipping lock: 57.53094, 38.29902.
2. The Church of Demetrius on the Blood
The picturesque temple on the banks of the Volga is one of the first buildings that tourists see on a cruise ship approaching the city. The stone church building was erected in 1692 on the site of the death of Tsarevich Dimitri (the youngest son of Ivan the Terrible). The facade of the building is painted in a symbolic red color, diluted with a snow-white shade of window frames and blue painted domes.
3. Transfiguration Cathedral
Uglich Cathedral Church, built in 1710 to replace a wooden building. The facade of the building in the style of classicism was redone in the 19th century. At the same time, wall paintings were created. The cathedral bell tower is located separately from the main building; it was erected in 1730. It is made in the form of an octagonal tower crowned with a spire. Similar architectural forms were widespread in the first half of the 18th century.
4. Epiphany (winter) Cathedral
In the past, the Epiphany Cathedral was part of a large temple, the main building of which was "cold", i.e. intended for summer services. The stone winter church was built in 1827 for the possibility of holding services at any time of the year. The building has the shape of a basilica with a gable roof, which ends with a semicircular apse. The main facade is framed by a series of wide windows and pilasters. Nowadays, the temple houses a museum with a collection of icons, a noble and merchant portrait.
5. The chambers of the Uglich princes
The princely palace of the XV century, built under Prince Andrei Vasilyevich the Great. The complex is one of the oldest civil architecture in Russia. The chambers have three tiers, the first floor over the centuries almost completely sank underground. As a result of numerous reconstructions, only the throne chamber remained from the historical building, the remaining parts were built in the 18th – 19th centuries.
6. Uglich History Museum
The exposition is located in a merchant's mansion. It was created by the forces of the Uglich family of the Kulagins, whose members were seriously interested in local history and collected several hundred historical exhibits. The museum is small and consists of two departments. Visitors can see clothes, weapons, household items, city panoramas and models of historical buildings.
7. Museum of urban life
An interesting and colorful collection is located in a wooden city estate. It is dedicated to the traditions, life and customs of the townspeople that were in use in the XIX – XX centuries. Part of the exposition is a reconstruction of a dwelling owned by a prosperous merchant or tradesman, with all the relevant attributes - furniture, utensils, clothes. As part of the excursion program, guests are offered traditional Russian tea drinking and a theatrical performance.
8. Museum of the History of Hydropower of Russia
The exposition is dedicated to everything related to the hydropower sector: dams, dams, the construction of hydropower plants, as well as the history and prospects of the industry. The institution opened in 2007, four years later it was included in the list of the best regional museums in Russia. The collection occupies 11 halls located on three floors. Thanks to many interactive exhibits, the exhibition looks lively and informative.
9. The Museum of Prison Art
The institution was founded by a private person in 2004. The exposition, located in two small rooms, is a collection of objects created by prisoners. It is known that people who are serving time are making the most bizarre things from improvised materials in order to pass the time. Paper, sheets, bread crumb, wood are used. In the Uglich Museum you can see all these wonders.
10. Museum-gallery of dolls by Olga Pavlycheva
A private collection of dolls created by the craftswoman and artist Olga Pavlycheva. Literally from childhood, she led a circle where young artisans made toys from various materials. It was these children who later became prototypes for museum exhibits. Almost all dolls are made of papier-mâché, each figure is individual and is presented in a special way.
11. Museum of myths and superstitions of the Russian people
Unusual and even mystical exposition is located inside a two-story wooden house. It is a collection of works by one family of craftsmen - everything that can be seen in the museum was created by the hands of strangers. In the exhibition halls, visitors will be met by creepy characters: ghouls, ghouls, sorceresses, witches, gobbers, brownies and other evil spirits.
12. Museum of the History of Russian Vodka
The museum opened in 1998. He became the first exhibition institution dedicated to the traditional liquor. The exhibition appeared in Uglich not by chance - the city is the birthplace of the vodka king and inventor of the bitter P. A. Smirnov. The collection includes moonshine stills, bottling machines, antique vessels, labels. The central place is occupied by the collection of several hundred varieties of vodka produced at enterprises throughout Russia.
13. The house-museum "Legends of Uglich"
The institution is located in a house owned by industrialist A.K. Posnov, who made a fortune in the production of sausages and meat delicacies. Located in two rooms, the exposition tells about the real and fictional history of Uglich, as well as its famous residents. Here you can see a working phone in 1900, an old piano, a gramophone and other interesting exhibits.
14. Watch Museum "The Seagull"
The Uglich factory Chaika is a manufacturer of the famous Soviet watch brand, which stopped production in 2006. In the museum you can familiarize yourself with the history of the enterprise and see more than 3 thousand copies of chronometers produced at different times. The institution was created in 1975 in the factory entrance building. After a long break, the museum opened its doors again in 2012.
15. Arsenal of unusual bicycles "Samokat"
The museum opened in early 2017. Thus, it is the youngest exhibition of Uglich. The collection is entirely dedicated to bicycles - here are old models of the XIX century, and devices made of wood, and modern devices. There is a bicycle rental at the museum where you can rent the Soviet "Ural" or "Eaglet", as well as a regular bike to ride around Uglich.
16. Fire tower
The construction was erected in the 1830s. It is a two-story mansion with a mezzanine, decorated with a classic portico, and directly a fire tower. The building still houses the city fire brigade. In the XIX century, the city administration was also located on the construction site, and a little later - the county and parish school.
17. Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist
The temple of the XVII century, built at the expense of the merchant N. G. Chepolosov. The merchant wished to build a church in memory of his young son Ivan, who was killed by the envious clerk Rudakov. In the 1960s, during the restoration, the grave of a boy was found inside the temple. The artistic value of the building is so undeniable that even in the Stalin era, the Uglich Hydroelectric Power Station project was changed to preserve it.
18. Kazan Church
The temple is located on Assumption Square. Previously, two churches stood in its place - wooden and stone, destroyed during the fires. The church building, which has survived to this day, was erected in the second half of the 18th century, however, it also burned twice, after which it underwent major renovations. In the fire of 1921, the most valuable relic was lost - the icon of the Kazan Mother of God. After desolation in the XX century, the temple was reborn again and today it is a decoration of Uglich.
19. Church of Tsarevich Demetrius "on the field"
One of the most picturesque temples of Uglich, the construction of which is associated with the legend. After the murder of the young Tsarevich Dmitry, his body was decided to be sent to Moscow. During a farewell divine liturgy in the open air outside the city, a stream of blood spilled from the tomb. Drops with particles of the earth were carefully collected and placed in a crab, and in this place they decided to build a church. The surviving 18th century temple building is the heir to that first church.
20. Korsun church
The church is located on the road leading from Yaroslavl. From the XIII century on this place there was a monastery destroyed by the Poles in the Time of Troubles. When in the 18th century a new temple was erected on the site of burnt buildings, they miraculously discovered the surviving icon of the Mother of God of Korsun, in honor of which they consecrated the throne. The building was built in the Naryshkin Baroque style with elements of Russian architecture.
21. Resurrection Monastery
The exact date of the founding of the monastery is unknown - most experts agree that the monastic community was formed before the 15th century. The surviving complex of buildings, consisting of the Resurrection Cathedral, the bell tower, the refectory and the church of Hodegetria, was erected in the 1670s. In the XVIII century the monastery was abolished, and its churches served as parish churches. The overhaul of the ensemble took place in 1975.
22. The Epiphany Monastery
The female monastery, first mentioned in the sources of the XIV century. It was founded by Evdokia - the wife of Prince Dmitry Donskoy. Initially, all the buildings of the complex were wooden, in the XVII – XVIII centuries they were replaced by stone ones. Most of the buildings, including the sister corps, appeared in the 19th century during the period of the highest prosperity of the monastery. Monastic life revived in the 2000s after a 70-year hiatus.
23. Alekseevsky monastery
Alekseevsky monastery was founded at the end of the XIV century by the monk Adrian with the blessing of Metropolitan Alexy, but during the Time of Troubles it was almost completely destroyed. After the expulsion of the Polish-Lithuanian invaders, the restoration of the Assumption Church (nicknamed “Marvelous” for its picturesque appearance) began. Gradually revived the entire monastery.
24. Uglich hydroelectric station
The hydroelectric power station was launched in 1940. In the Soviet Union, this was the first such facility in the future to provide Moscow with electricity. At the moment, the facility is operational.The complex of buildings, consisting of the station building, a shipping lock and two dams, is recognized as an architectural heritage, therefore it is under state protection.
25. Shipping lock of the Uglich hydroelectric station
The design is part of the Uglich hydroelectric station, it adjoins the left bank of the Volga (to the earthen dam). The width of the lock is 10 meters, it is filled with water to the desired level in about 10 minutes, and emptied - in 7. It consists of enclosing dams, a chamber, a mooring wall and a shipping channel 1.2 km in length. Cruise ships and industrial ships constantly pass through the gateway.
1. Uglich Kremlin
The history of Uglich’s main attraction dates back at least a thousand years. According to the annals, the first buildings appeared in 947. They were strengthened with shafts and walls made of wood, which periodically fell into disrepair. In the eighteenth century, it was decided to completely eliminate them due to uselessness.
Now only the moat reminds of the walls. The construction on the territory of the Kremlin of the Epiphany one-domed cathedral dates from 1827. This is a long building with a one-color exterior. Outside, the monastery is more like a secular structure, as religious motives are completely absent. The painting of the cathedral in its original form has not been preserved. In Soviet times, the building played the role of a club. The cathedral was deprived of a large number of details, the paintings were whitewashed. From the decoration of the temple only columns are preserved. Now there is an exhibition of ancient Russian painting.
Today, the Kremlin complex includes the Transfiguration and Epiphany cathedrals, princely chambers, the Church of Demetrius and the city council building. Each building is a reflection of a separate era.
2. Museum of Hydropower
A unique attraction of Uglich, analogues of which do not exist in the world. Three floors of the museum are occupied by an interactive center. Using touch screens with entertainment programs and electrified cards, guests get acquainted with the periods of the formation of hydropower in Russia, the construction of hydroelectric power stations.
There are exhibits in the open air, next to the museum. Visitors do not get tired of wondering the wheel of a water turbine, whose weight is 120 tons, the diameter of only one of its blades is nine meters. The wheel is in working condition. Guests can also see the control column and pumps that have worked at the station for seventy years.
3. Church of Dimitry Tsarevich "on the blood"
The famous Uglich temple was built on the site of the death of Tsarevich Demetrius, the son of Ivan the Terrible. After his death, a small chapel was erected here, which was soon ravaged by the Poles.
In 1630, the temple of Tsarevich Demetrius was built in this place, in which the tomb was located. After 62 years, instead of a wooden structure, a stone temple was erected. Now you can see the forged door, preserved from the 17th century, walk along the floor, which in the 18th century was covered with cast-iron plates.
4. Bicycle Museum
If you do not know what to visit in Uglich, pay attention to the bicycle museum. The attraction took its first visitors on January 4, 2017. At its sites, the original “Arsenal of unusual bicycles‘ Scooter ’” shows guests dozens of bicycles, including forged and wooden vehicles, as well as advanced models. The Soviet period is represented by a number of bicycles - from children's to sports models. Bike exhibits are available to visitors for a ride.
The exposition includes amusing bicycle facilities, for example, a bicycle bar or a bicycle that has been pretty drunk. Each tour of the museum tells the story of the creator Sergey Kondakov, his cycling adventures and achievements.
5. Museum of myths and superstitions of the Russian people
Another unique attraction of Uglich, which is worth a visit to the tourist. Museum exhibits are the work of Daria Alien and her husband. The craftsmen made wax figures, stuffed animals and costumes with their own hands. The exposition tells visitors about the origin of superstitions, legends, customs, lifestyle, the time when people believed in magic. During the acquaintance with the exhibition, guests will find out why ancestors knocked on a tree to avoid the evil eye, why they spat on their shoulders.
The rooms in the museum recreate the peasant dwellings of past centuries. There are long-forgotten chests, caskets, tueski and rocker arms. In the burners you can see kitchen utensils, talismans, spinning wheels, grass bunches and towels embroidered by peasant women.
6. Museum of Prison Art
A museum called the Forbidden Zone opened in Uglich in the summer of 2004. The main purpose of the creation was to demonstrate the things that convicted people made. Another idea of the foundation of the museum is the education of the young generation, the formation of respect for the law. A visit to prison cells as close as possible to the present will make you think about the results of the commission of an unlawful act. In the museum, young people will clearly see what is the inevitability of punishment, they are aware of the real situation in the current colonies.
7. Museum "Library of Russian vodka"
One of the most unique attractions in the world, which can also be visited in Uglich. The exhibition stands of the vodka museum are filled with all kinds of domestic alcohol. Guides offer visitors to admire a huge collection of various containers, including glasses, decanters, moonshines. There is even a machine that spills alcohol into containers on its own. By the way, Uglich is the birthplace of Peter Smirnov, the vodka king. At the end of the excursion, guests can enjoy the famous peace day and buy a bottle for memory.
8. Museum-gallery of dolls by Olga Pavlycheva
Any girl dreams of getting into such a museum. The charming dolls of Olga Pavlycheva are not beauties in colorful robes, but funny children. The models are made using the author's papier-mâché technique, and the earliest dolls are made from salt dough. Each character is unique, original and expressive. There are funny pranksters, harlequins, a variety of clowns, young ladies and fans, asleep kids, heroes from books. Also within the walls of this attraction of Uglich, guests can view a collection of teddy bears and mice.
Exhibitions in the museum are constantly changing. Thanks to Olga Pavlycheva’s creative search, the stands are regularly updated with new models.
9. Transfiguration Cathedral
The main building of the Kremlin complex is characterized by monumental forms. Previously, an old wooden temple was located on the site of the cathedral. In 1611, the building, along with the inhabitants hiding in it, was burned by the Poles.
At the end of the war, a new cathedral made of stone was erected here. But this structure has not survived to the present day. The last reconstruction was carried out in the 19th century.
The interior of the cathedral is distinguished by its integrity due to the absence of pillars dividing the space. The golden flickering of the iconostasis and the numerous frescoes on the walls give a strict solemnity.
10. The Epiphany Monastery
The monastery complex was founded by the wife of Dmitry Donskoy in the 14th century. The female monastery was originally located in the city Kremlin, then it was transferred to the Rostov road. In this monastery, the nun Maria Nagaya was tonsured. So the mother of Tsarevich Dmitry became Martha.
For a long time, all the buildings were wooden. In 1700, the Smolensk Church opened, which was the first stone building belonging to the monastery. As a result of large-scale construction that unfolded here in the 19th century, not only churches, but also sister buildings became stone.
11. Alekseevsky monastery
This monastery is one of the oldest in Russia. The object of cultural heritage was erected in 1371 by Metropolitan Alexy. In the Time of Troubles, the monastery experienced a difficult period, all the buildings were plundered and destroyed by the Poles. As a result of their barbaric actions, many people died.
The memory of the laity killed by the Poles and church servants was immortalized in 1628 in the Assumption Church. The small temple part is connected to the refectory. A pillar in the middle of the building supports its arches.
A beautiful building is crowned with three white tents, which form a kind of crown. The tents, decorated with stone carvings, tend to rise, giving the building lightness and airiness. Due to the interesting design, the church received the second name “Divnaya”.
12. Resurrection Monastery
The foundation date of this ancient landmark of Uglich is not known for certain. It is believed that the mansion was built in the 15th century. All the monastery buildings are located in the same row and are interconnected by a gulbish. Thanks to such an unusual architectural solution, the complex looks unified and integral.
The main buildings of the monastery are the Resurrection Cathedral, the refectory with the Cathedral of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God and the three-span belfry. The structures are put in one line on high podklet and connected by a gallery.
13. Temple of Tsarevich Demetrius "on the field"
Tsarevich Dimitry’s Church “on the field” is a beautiful architectural landmark, which is also worth seeing in Uglich. At the entrance to Uglich from the Rostov region, guests of the town can see a small temple. It. The construction of the building was preceded by a long history, which became a legend. In 1606, the relics of Demetrius were transported to the capital along the Moscow road. At the exit from Uglich, the procession stopped, since the stretcher with the relics could not be moved in any way. For this reason, it was decided to continue along the Rostov road.
Again, the procession stopped at the exit from the city, so that the residents said goodbye to Demetrius. During the day the clergy conducted a continuous worship. During such a service, blood was spilled from the coffin with the relics of the Tsarevich. Soon a chapel was erected in this place, and a temple was later built. Now the building is located inside Uglich and is surrounded by houses, but the old name of the temple “on the field” has been preserved.
The church is a typical building of its era. The decoration of a one-story church with a bell and refectory is dominated by forms of classicism.
14. Uglich History Museum
The museum exposition is located in the private house of the Kulagins, local historians and military history researchers. The mansion, decorated with carvings, is located in a quiet street almost in the city center.
The Uglich Chimes exposition tells the guests about the history of the ancient city, famous inhabitants, culture, lifestyle and military victories. The museum's collection has about two thousand exhibits, including exclusive ones.
The main motive is the heroic history of the city. The visitors are presented with pages of the history of the city of the 15th, 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, which are little studied. During the tour, waltzes, ancient marches and bell ringing sound.
16. Museum of urban life
The museum is located in the former local library. The exposition tells visitors about the traditions, life and customs of urban residents. Two halls recreate the interiors of the 19-20 centuries.
In the first room there are old malls with merchants and shop windows that are filled with goods - from ceramic dishes to bags and boots. Another hall is a model of a typical Uglichin’s apartment, where you can see the owner’s office, the living room and the female half. Here, the atmosphere of past years is fully reproduced, antique furniture is placed. All items are perfectly preserved.
Newlyweds who have visited the museum can participate in the Feast of the Mountain program, and guests who come for Christmas will celebrate the holiday in the atmosphere of a county town.
18. Victory Park
The park is located in the vibrant tourist center of Uglich, opposite the Kremlin complex. Here is a monument to the feat of local residents who fell during the Great Patriotic War. It is pleasant to walk along the cobbled paths of park alleys among a variety of flower beds, and you can relax in the shade of trees or by the stream, from which you can enjoy excellent views of the Kremlin churches.
Park guests can ride a water bike or shoot at the dash. For kids built a children's town, arranged rides and rental electric vehicles. Tourists should look outside the front gate of the park. There are shopping malls with souvenirs and clothes.
19. Korsun church
Last on our list is another beautiful architectural landmark of Uglich. The snow-white church with a bell tower trimmed with red lace rises above the city. The monastery was erected in the 13th century. In the Time of Troubles, he was completely ruined and burned by the Poles.
During the construction of the stone church on the site of the burnt building, the surviving icon of the Korsun Mother of God was found. The new church was consecrated in honor of the discovered image. The unique temple is beautiful and harmonious, its five chapters stand on the so-called four. The octagonal bell tower of five tiers forms a single whole with the church.